The Key Stage 5 curriculum at Royal Alexandra and Albert School offers a wide range of AS and A Level subjects:

Art and Design Film Studies
Biology Geography
Business History
Chemistry Mathematics
Computing Further Mathematics
Drama and Theatre Studies Music
Economics Physics
English Language and Literature Product Design
English Literature Psychology
Extended Project Qualification Sociology
French Spanish


We also offer the following Level 3 BTEC qualifications alongside these courses:

Business (Single Award)
Business (Double Award)

In Year 12 students choose three subjects to study, with the option of completing the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) as a fourth subject. All subjects last the full two years of Sixth Form.

Entry requirements

In order to be able to study in our Sixth Form, students must have a minimum of 5 GCSEs at grade 4-9. Students must also meet the entry criteria for the individual subjects they wish to take which are outlined in the Sixth Form Course Information Booklet

Extended Project Qualification

The Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) is one of the most exciting developments in education in recent years. It is an independent project which can take the form of a dissertation, investigation, artefact or performance. Students develop the idea for their project with only limited guidance from their project supervisor, and through weekly meetings alongside skills based tutorials, students refine and develop their ideas, just as they would at university.

As attractive as it the EPQ is, it is not to be taken lightly. It requires a high level of commitment to research and complete a project to a high standard and complete a report of around five-thousand words. For those that do take it up however, it is highly regarded by universities and in some cases can lead to an adjusted offer.

The Sixth Form Course Information Booklet will provide more detailed information about the courses themselves and their specific entry requirements.

Curriculum Reform

As of September 2015, schools in England saw the introduction of the new AS and A Level subjects. The first results for AS Levels being 2016, and for the A levels in 2017.

The key changes to AS and A Level are:

  • A and AS have been decoupled. This will come into effect as each subject is reformed. AS will then be a free standing qualification that will not contribute to the A Level grade.
  • AS and A Level qualifications will be assessed at the end of each course. They will become linear qualifications. Modular assessment no longer exists.
  • AS qualifications are designed to be taught alongside the first year of an A Level course.
  • There is to be a reduction in non-examined assessment. This will only be used where the skills/content cannot be assessed in any other way. This coursework element, if continued, will only be part of the A Level qualification and not the AS Level.
  • With the exception of Art and Design, all subjects reformed from September 2015 will be examination only at AS Level.

Reform Subjects

The first-wave of reform saw AS subjects taught from 2015, with AS assessments taking place in summer 2016 and A Level assessments in 2017. These subjects include: Art and Design, Biology, Business Studies, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, English Language, English language and Literature, English Literature, History, Physics, Psychology, and Sociology.

The second-wave of reform saw AS subjects taught from 2016, with AS assessments taking place in summer 2017 and A Level assessments in 2018. These subjects include: Drama and Theatre, Geography, Modern Foreign Languages (French and Spanish), Music, Physical Education.

The final wave of reform sees first teaching in September 2017, with AS assessments taking place in summer 2018 and A Level assessments in 2019. These subjects include: Design Technology, Further Maths, and Maths.